What are the 5 DRIs? A quick guide

DRI- Dietary Reference IntakesDRIs are the stuff you find on food labels. But what do they mean?

DRI stands for Dietary Reference Intakes. It’s used for planning diets and making sure enough nutrients are taken in the daily food.

EAR means Estimated Average Requirements and is the amount of nutrients estimated to meet the needs of 50% of the people in a life-stage and gender group.

RDA means Recommended Dietary Allowance and is the nutrient intake level sufficient to meet the requirements of 97-98% of people. The RDA is calculated from the EAR and two standard deviations above and below the EAR.

AI stands for Adequate Intake and is based on the nutritional intake of a group fo healthy people. AI is used when there is not enough data to figure out EAR or RDA.

UL is the Tolerable Upper Intake Level is the level of micronutrients such as vitamins, that should not be exceeded to prevent toxification.
Print Print a concept map for nutrition

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s